a light in the morning [a grateful heart]

psalm 18:28-29 NIV

Wow that weekend went fast! Definitely needing another day after that big weekend!

But it was wonderful spending it with lots of family and being thankful for the wonderful gift that is a mother!

Mothers Day has never really worried me AT ALL it’s an absolutely beautiful day to honor beautiful women.  But I went to bed Sunday night feeling heavy. A horrible heavy feeling of want and lust swept over me as I wished all the things that Mothers Day represents to be mine.

I went to bed feeling not just physically exhausted from a long day but emotionally exhausted from just being tired of it all, of all the waiting.

I woke up this morning, really flat.  Dragging myself out of bed.  But instead of starting my Monday morning routine, I went straight to my desk….and opened the Bible.

Opening a few pages and skimming through a couple of verses in Psalm, I came upon this….and it opened my heart back up to hope straight away!

So today I am grateful for quick sorrows.  I am grateful that my heart turns straight to His word and His promises when I’m feeling down.

I am grateful knowing that His light is my lamp through times of darkness!

You, Lord, keep my lamp burning
My God turns my darkness into light
With your help I can advance against a troop.
With my God I can scale a wall.
Psalm 18:28-29 NIV

hi i'm finley

8 thoughts on “a light in the morning [a grateful heart]

  1. Kenji says:

    Isn’t it so great knowing God is watching over us and knows just what we need to hear!! I love seeing Him work in this way. God is so great!!

  2. Andrea T says:

    That’s a beautiful verse. I’ve taken to writing verses down as well and it’s incredible how they resonate with me. He is all love and kindness. I love reading His word. May you have a wonderful week ahead of you.

I would love for you to leave a reply here

