professional rally car driver career here i come [lately]

rally driving - initforlove

Well maybe not any time soon but I like to think that it could be just around the corner….eh eh (excuse the terrible racing car dad joke!).

At this stage, I am not going to quit my day job, but I did have an amazing time last week on the race track for last years birthday present from hubby, that I FINALLY took.

It was 4 laps in a rally car and 1 hot lap.

As much as I would like to say that I was drifting around corners, with no brakes and just the wind in my hair….I wasn’t.   Unfortunately hubby told me quite the opposite – that on my first lap I was doing about 40kms an hour – it felt like 60km at least if you ask me!!!

I was 1 of about 22 men driving on the day, which at first got me a little nervous and then I shrugged it off as its something I’ve wanted to try for a long time.  Hubby likes to say that he’s “had enough of her driving like a rally driver in my car that I thought she needed to do it for real“.  He enjoyed a chuckle with a few of the men on the day with that joke!

I didn’t stall, I didn’t spin out and I didn’t crash.  So I think it was pretty successful.

But I did have an absolutely amazing time.  And by the 4th lap, I was driving pretty fast, no foot on the brake and drifting around corners with nothing but praise and “good on ya girl” from the instructor next to me everytime I sped up or took the corner faster.

In my hot lap as a passenger with an experienced driver – he kind of went super fast, I got dirt in my mouth and got chucked around a bit.

Such a fun day though and something I can now cross off my bucket list!  I love driving in general and this just proved how much I really do love it.  It was also cute to see how proud of me hubby was to see me give it a go – especially when I didn’t stall taking off!!!   I think he was more relieved than proud then though!!!

One day, I would love to go back and give it another go – for now though, my little 2 door four wheel drive will have to do!!!

xx Finley

I would love for you to leave a reply here

