lemon butter-licious

Picture

With Christmas now behind us I thought I’d pop up a quick little recipe which I used as a homemade Christmas Day present to my family as my brain has been so consumed with food these last 2 days I can’t stop thinking about it!!!

Last year I made Peanut Brittle and this year they all received Lemon Butter.   Such a tasty delicious recipe and so beautifully yellow with all those lovely lemons that sit prettying up your fruit bowl!

I had so much fun making it I thought I’d post the recipe for you.   And for those that may have already made this before, the great thing is its quick and easy and pretty fool proof – as long as you don’t let it boil that is!!!! Otherwise you’ll have curdled lumpy lemon butter on your hands 🙂

Enjoy!!!  I know I will – as of course you have to make an extra one for yourself to keep 😉

Picture

Ingredients
> 4 eggs
> ¾ cup sugar
> ½ cup lemon juice
> 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon rind
> 125 g chopped butter

Method
1. Place eggs and sugar into a heatproof bowl.
2. Place bowl over a pan of barely simmering water and whisk constantly until sugar has
dissolved.

3. Add lemon juice, lemon rind and butter. Whisk mixture for 20 minutes until smooth and
the butter has melted and thickened enough to coat the spoon. Do not allow the mixture
to boil as it will curdle.  

>> A good tip also is that if you grab your whisk and you can still see the imprint of the whisk in 

Picture

the lemon butter when you take it out, its pretty much ready!

4. Pour warm mixture into hot sterilised jars and seal immediately.
Note: recipe makes 2 cups
I ended up tripling the recipe which made 6 cups and filled 8.5 IKEA Rajtan spice jars

Picture

Picture

01/01/2014 8:42pm

What recipes do you have to use lemon butter in? I have never tried it, but sounds yummy 🙂

Reply

04/01/2014 10:33am

Hi Jena. oh you could use it in all sorts. It’s really more of a topping sort of thing. So for something easy spread it on toast – so yum on that for something sweet and sour in the morning! Or on pancakes, crepes, pikelets, croissants, make some melting moments pop as the centre of them, make mini lemon meringue tarts with it….all sorts 🙂

Reply

04/01/2014 3:13am

Love this recipe, will have to try it!!!

Reply

04/01/2014 10:34am

Hi Daisy! Yes defniitely give it a go. Nice simple ingredients too to make and cute as gifts too! So tasty!

I would love for you to leave a reply here

